Random Thought: Cliche VS. Adage

“You don’t know what you have until it’s gone.”

Cliche or adage? All depends on the context. Any pithy statement takes on a cliche connotation when impetuously prated.

But, assign the phrase to a situation of significant value, and the once cliche becomes a maxim.

For me I did not have to lose what I value; instead, I almost loss. If you almost lose your life; the life of another; or your marriage, suddenly: “You don’t know what you have until it’s almost gone.”

Now I am grateful– but I fear time– because time always erodes the grateful into cliche and once again we await the maxim to come.

Sincerely and ever truly yours,

lostwhitemale

2 Comments

Filed under Random Thought

2 responses to “Random Thought: Cliche VS. Adage

  1. I love this. It was like reading something out of the brain of George Carlin. It may not have been your intention, but Carlin’s intellectual humor is “one-of-a-kind” (cliche?) and I relate to him in my mind. While what you’ve written is interesting on it’s own, for some reason I have to apply the context of Carlin and it becomes humorous and even more enjoyable.

    • Now that you mention it, I can hear Carlin’s raspy voice hunched over a microphone saying something like this. I think he would emphasize the “almost” as well.

Say Something:

