OPB: YouAreNotSoSmart

“A world that can be explained even with bad reasons is a familiar world. But, on the other hand, in a universe suddenly divested of illusions and lights, man feels an alien, a stranger. His exile is without remedy since he is deprived of the memory of a lost home or the hope of a promised land. This divorce between man and his life, the actor and his setting, is properly the feeling of absurdity.” – Albert Camus

I was reading “The Benjamin Fraklin Effect” on youarenotsosmart.com, and the author used the quote above from Albert Camus. As I read the quote from Camus, I experienced kismet. Camus has finally given me an applicable term for how I feel about most of life; absurd. Why is it I feel this absurdity? because of what Camus is saying: to be without hope is to feel absurd.

I have been unmoored from my religion. The American culture no longer offers any respite from the aimless drifting of the consciousness– instead, American culture is no culture at all– it is marketing and capitalism. Disguised gods exploiting the floating souls of the world’s young.

So melodramatic, eh?  I’m just requesting some hope to help me mollify the constant pull of absurdity. I mean past generations all had their reasons: war, religion, patriotism, politics, science, self, work, family, drugs, peace. Maybe it’s just me because plenty of the mass still believes in many of the things listed. Maybe I’m sick and jaded– a depressed cynic.

Somehow though, I feel manipulated– raised and indoctrinated. A product of adroit minds compensated to turn profit, I have been made to want and consume at an exponential rate.

Keeping in line with “The Benjamin Fraklin Effect”, I do things and rationalize what I do. Maybe because I consume so much and have the desire to consume,  I have constructed this elaborate justification.

Leave a comment

Filed under OtherPeople'sBlogs

Say Something:

